Hurricane Dorian: What Travelers Need to Know


Here’s what we know about how the hurricane may affect travel.

As of Thursday morning, airlines were offering fee waivers for changes and cancellations for trips to Caribbean destinations, but few had included Florida waivers. However, most airlines are expected to update their waiver policies throughout the day on Thursday to include Florida airports.

Southwest is allowing travelers to the Florida destinations of Fort Lauderdale, Fort Myers, Jacksonville, Orlando, Tampa and West Palm Beach; Providenciales, Turks and Caicos; Punta Cana, in the Dominican Republic; San Juan, Puerto Rico; and Nassau, the Bahamas, to “rebook in the original class of service or travel standby within 14 days of their original date of travel” for no additional fee.

As of Wednesday evening American was waiving the fee for changing flights scheduled through Sept. 3 to and through the Florida destinations of Daytona Beach, Fort Lauderdale, Fort Myers, Gainesville, Jacksonville, Key West, Melbourne, Miami, Orlando, Sarasota / Bradenton, Tallahassee, Tampa and West Palm Beach. Waivers are also being offered for flights to and through Puerto Rico, St. Lucia, the Dominican Republic, Haiti and Martinique.

Delta was waiving the change fee for flights scheduled through Aug. 31 to, from and through Providenciales in Turks and Caicos, and Marsh Harbor and Georgetown in the Bahamas.

The airline was also waiving change fees for people traveling to, from and through Fort Lauderdale, Daytona Beach, Gainesville, Jacksonville, Melbourne, Miami, Orlando, Valdosta and West Palm Beach, Fla. through Sept. 4.

By Tariro Mzezewa

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here