Six Nations CONTROVERSY: Did the referee fluff this CRUCIAL decision? | Rugby Union | Sport


Wales and Scotland had been expected to contest a tight affair under the roof of the Principality Stadium but the visitors found themselves 14-0 down inside 15 minutes.

And the one-way traffic continued as the Welsh led 27-0 after just an hour but they did not let up, pressing on in search of a fourth try that would earn them a bonus point.

Steff Evans eventually did go over in the left corner with seven minutes left to grab the extra point, but the referee decided to check with the television match official that the try had been fairly scored.

However, the TMO only checked that Evans had got the ball down before being pushed off the pitch, deciding not to look at the offload by Hadleigh Parkes that had set him free.

And when injured Wales flanker Sam Warburton was shown the footage afterwards, it was clear which way the decision should have gone.

“It’s forward. I can’t deny that even as a Welshman,” Warburton said.

But fellow BBC pundit Andy Nicol pointed out that the decision could have repercussions further down the line.

“It was an absolutely brilliant finish from Steff Evans there. But that decision obviously didn’t affect this game but you never know what [difference] that one extra point, the bonus point, could make at the end of the Six Nations,” Nicol said.

“Wales deserved the bonus point. The gulf between the two teams was unfortunately so wide.

“But when the referee asked the TMO ‘any reason I cannot award the try?’ then surely they could go back to the pass. That’s missed by the TMO.”

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here